Current account interest rate: does the bank pay interest on your account

Updated

In short (16 October 2026): Highest savings account rate in the savings comparison: 3.00%: Ferratum (Multitude Bank) (Savings account; note: no Finnish branch, withdrawal terms not stated); highest 12-month fixed-term deposit 3.30%: Hypo (Suomen AsuntoHypoPankki) (minimum €10,000). Full comparison: savings rates.

Contents
  1. Highest savings account rates in the deposit comparison
  2. What makes up the interest rate?
  3. How can I get a better return on my money?
  4. Is my money safe?

The current account interest rate is small at most banks, and the savings account rate is usually better. The table shows banks' rates as last checked.

Deposit rates: for savings accounts and fixed-term deposits in more depth, with deposit guarantee and taxation, see the page Deposit rates.

Current and savings account interest rates by bank
BankCurrent account interest rateSavings account interest rateNotes
bunqnot available1.51%MassInterest of 1.51% per year is paid weekly on personal customers' euro savings on all tiers, on savings of up to €100,000.
Alisa Pankkinot available1.50%The savings account interest rate of 1.50% is calculated on the daily balance and paid annually in January; no account management fee, six free withdrawals per calendar year. Fixed-term deposit interest rate 2.20-3.40%.
Revolutnot available1.00%Instant Access Savings (EUR) at the Standard tier 1% per year (variable). Deposits are covered by the Lithuanian deposit guarantee up to €100,000.
Ålandsbanken0.00%0.60%Prime account interest rate 0% (ÅAB-prime 2.50% on 24 September 2026, rate ÅAB-prime minus 4.00%). The Itämeri account interest rate 0.60% from the first euro; at a branch 6 free withdrawals per year.
S-Bank0.00%0.50%S-Tili interest rate 0.00% (updated 31 March 2026). The S-Tuottotili rate is tiered: €0-4,999 0.01%, €5,000-19,999 0.5%, €20,000-99,999 1.5% and from €100,000 1.75% (S-Prime 2.0%).
Danske Bank0.25%0.50%Danske account interest rate 0.25% for deposits under €10,000, 0% for the amount above that. Danske Kasvutili: a fixed 0.5% for deposits under €10,000, 3-month Euribor -0.5-0.9% for deposits over €10,000. The monthly fee of the ordinary Säästötili savings account is €1.50 (free for under-18s and young people).
OP0.25%0.40%The current account interest rate is a fixed 0.25% for an owner-customer (0.00% for others). The interest on the first tier of a savings account (under €10,000) is a fixed 0.40%; for larger amounts the rate is tied to the 3-month Euribor. An owner-customer also gets OP bonuses on savings account funds.
Nordea0.25%0.40%Current account interest rate 0.25% up to €10,000, no interest on the amount above that. EtuTili: Nordea Etukorko rate (1.90%) minus a tiered margin, 0.40% for deposits under €50,000. Savings accounts are free of charge.
Aktia0.00%0.25%Current account annual interest rate 0.00%. Savings deposit account annual interest rate 0.25%, but the account's monthly fee is €3.00 if the lowest balance of the month is under €10,000 (price list 1 January 2026).
Oma Säästöpankki0.00%0.00%Current account interest rate 0.00%. Savings deposit account interest rate 0.0% (savings price list 1 November 2025).
N26not availablenot availableThe Instant Savings interest rate is contradictory: according to N26's EU front page the Standard rate is 0.30% in Finland (from 11 June 2025), but on the price comparison page the Standard rate is 0.25%. The value has therefore been left empty.
POP Banknot availablenot availableThe interest rates of the current account and the Talletustili deposit account were not verified; they vary by POP Bank.
Säästöpankki0.10%not availableSäästöpankki Optia current account interest rate 0.10% (price list 1 January 2026). The savings account interest rate was not verified; rates vary by local Säästöpankki.
Wisenot availablenot availableWise does not offer deposit interest. Wise Interest is a fund investment (the capital is not protected), with an annual fee from 0.26%.

Highest savings account rates in the deposit comparison

The deposit comparison also includes foreign banks and banks that have no current account, so it covers more savings accounts than the table above.

Savings accounts by highest rate
ProviderAccountRateNotes
Ferratum (Multitude Bank)Savings account3.00%no Finnish branchwithdrawal terms not stated
InstabankHigh-interest savings account2.70%no Finnish branchtax not withheld in Finland
Collector (Norion Bank)Collector savings account2.65%deposit in the Swedish parent bank
Bank NorwegianSavings account 312.55%no Finnish branchtax not withheld in Finland
BigbankSavings account2.50%campaign
Nordax BankNordax Tuottotili (yield account)2.40%no Finnish branchshared deposit guarantee limit (NOBA Bank Group)
Nordax BankNordax savings account2.35%no Finnish branchshared deposit guarantee limit (NOBA Bank Group)
InstabankSavings account2.30%no Finnish branchtax not withheld in Finland

The table is an abridged version. The full sortable comparison and the calculator: savings rates comparison. Tiered accounts whose stated rate applies only to the top tier are not included.

What makes up the interest rate?

The rate can be fixed or follow a reference rate. On some accounts the rate depends on the size of the deposit or the customer relationship.

Withholding tax is deducted from the interest of a Finnish bank, and interest from a foreign bank you report yourself. Read tax on savings deposits and see whether a savings account or a fixed-term deposit is better for you.

How can I get a better return on my money?

Move the extra money from your current account to a savings account or consider other ways of saving that match your risk level. An interest-bearing account is the safest, but the return is limited.

Is my money safe?

See the deposit guarantee guide and check what deposit guarantee each bank has.

Frequently asked questions

Where can I get the best interest rate on a savings account?

In October 2026, the highest savings account rate is 3.00%: Ferratum (Multitude Bank) (Savings account; note: no Finnish branch, withdrawal terms not stated). The highest rate on a 12-month fixed-term deposit is 3.30%: Hypo (Suomen AsuntoHypoPankki) (minimum €10,000). The figures come from Pankkitutka's savings comparison (the Savings rates page, /talletuskorot), which also covers the best offer from Finnish banks, the deposit guarantee and taxation. Rates may come with conditions and tiers and can change, so check the terms on the provider's page.

How high is the interest rate on a current account?

In October 2026, the highest current account rates are OP 0.25%, Nordea 0.25% and Danske Bank 0.25%. Most banks pay a lower rate on current accounts, and the terms vary by bank.

Does a current account pay interest?

Some banks pay interest on a current account and others do not. The rates are in the table above.

Does a savings account have a better rate?

A savings account rate is often better than a current account rate, but the terms and withdrawal limits vary. See the banks' savings accounts in the table.

Why do interest rates change?

Banks' rates follow the general interest rate level and competition, so they can change monthly.